Daphne Yao presides over first Cyber(W) workshop

Associate Professor of Computer Science Daphne Yao and her colleague Professor Elisa Bertino from Purdue presided over the first Cyber(W) workshop in Dallas, Texas on Oct. 30.

The workshop was inspired by the significant gender imbalance in all security conferences, in terms of the number of publishing authors, PC members, organizers, and attendees. What causes this gender imbalance remains unclear. However, multiple research studies have shown that a diverse group is more creative, diligent, and productive than a homogeneous group. In order to maintain a sustainable and creative workforce, substantial efforts need to be made by our security community to broaden the participation from all underrepresented groups in cyber security research conferences.

 The workshop co-located with the ACM CCS, one of the top security conferences in the world.

The workshop received generous sponsorships from CRA-W, ACM SIGSAC, the Virginia Tech Department of Computer Science and Stack Center, MIT Lincoln Laboratories, and the University of Texas, Dallas.

Read More

ACM recognizes Professor of Computer Science Kirk Cameron as 2017 Distinguished Member

The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field. This year Professor of Computer Science Kirk Cameron was recognized as a 2017 Distinguished Member in the category of Contributions to Computing.

Read more about the recognition and see other honorees here.

Read More